Catch Up Post & Try it Out Tuesday – the Saturday Edition…

It occurred to me that with the kind of week it’s been I managed to go through the entire thing without making time for any blog posts…. As a matter of fact, I’m not sure I’ve posted anything since my last ‘Try it Out Tuesday’ post.  So sorry!  I had a couple of things I wanted to encourage you to try when I posted this week and, frankly, I don’t actually have the energy to go into much detail now.  The fibro created some painful, difficult times during the last week, but the issue today has actually been more ME/CFS fatigue related.  I told hubby earlier that days like this were hard.  When the fatigue is this bad and I have things I have to get done I feel like I have to fight for every minute and action of the day.  It’s like a tug-of-war between me and the waves of exhaustion.  *sigh*  Anyway!  You probably didn’t stop by to hear me whine!  That’s just a bit of explanation of why this is going to be pretty short and sweet.  🙂
The topic of Tuesday’s ‘try it out’ post was about a few different ideas from Pinterest, each one addressing some sort of household tip or trick.  Since I don’t have much focus now I’m going to share the most effective and helpful and save the others for a different day, so make sure you check back!

 

Pinterest users share many different types of pins related to cleaning, but one of the first ones I saw that really caught my attention was regarding laundry… specifically – towels.  Our washing machine is in our basement.  To reach it you have to go outside the house, down the stairs and into the basement.  It’s doesn’t have heat or air so if a load of laundry is left in the washer too long during hot weather it can develop a smell.  This is particularly true with towels, which already run the risk of picking up an old, mildew smell.  One of the things that really bothers me is to take a shower, feel nice and clean and then dry off with a towel that has a smell that is slightly ‘off’.  It can make me feel like I need to take another shower.  🙂

When I saw that someone had pinned a link back to a blog with laundry tips for towels I automatically added it to my household board.  The solution is a simple one and I’ve run two loads to make sure it works – I’m thrilled to report that it does!  Simply set the water temp to hot and begin filling.  Add a cup of white vinegar (the instructions I read said anywhere from 1-2 cups), let the water dilute it a little before adding the towels so that it doesn’t discolor your towels, put the towels in and let it run a normal cycle.  Don’t add any detergent – just the water and vinegar.  After it has completed run the load again with your regular laundry detergent.  I left the temp at hot, as per the directions, and just restarted the load and let it go.  That’s it!  When the second cycle is complete put your towels in the dryer and dry them as you normally would.  If you’d like to increase their absorbency don’t add any fabric softener.

The first load I ran came out great and there was no residual vinegar smell or anything.  Just to get a different opinion I got a second load together with a washcloth I found crammed under the hamper.  It had a little slight mildew smell and I made my husband smell it beforehand and then made him smell it again after.  He thought it smelled great and judged the experiment a success!  This is definitely a household tip I’ll use again.  🙂
I’ll try to come back later and link up some other sites for ya!  In the meantime – thanks for stopping by and hope you’re having a wonderful weekend!   🙂

2 thoughts on “Catch Up Post & Try it Out Tuesday – the Saturday Edition…”

  1. Sorry to hear you’re having a rough week. The pain and fatigue have been kicking my butt too. It is hard. Very hard. *sigh*

    On a brighter note, I love the towel tip. Stinky towels are just not acceptable!

    1. Oh no! Sorry to hear it’s been a rough week for you, as well, and hope the week ahead is better! As for the towels – I completely agree about stinky towels being unacceptable. Glad I could pass along a helpful tip. 🙂

Leave a Reply

