Try it Out Tuesday – Baked Oatmeal

So far all of my Tuesday posts have been recipes and I would like to apologize for writing about another one this week!  I’ve got another idea entirely for next week’s post if you can just hang with me until then!  🙂   Part of my current obsession with recipes is to try to find things that are healthier options to put into rotation at our house.  Since my fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue keep me from being as active as I should be, I’m making some dietary changes – also good for both conditions anyway!  (FYI – CFS/ME and Fibromyalgia Awareness Day is this Saturday – May 12th – and I would love to encourage you to show your support by wearing blue for CFS/ME or purple for Fibromyalgia!  This blog post has some great ideas about how to get involved and I hope to add a post here sometime tomorrow or Thursday… but that’s another post.)

 

My desire to try some new, healthy meals wasn’t just for my health – I was also trying to find some things that would appeal to my husband.  He often eats only one or two real meals a day and in my search to find something he might eat for breakfast I came across an idea from this pin on Pinterest.  The link in the ‘pin’ leads back to Brenda’s blog called ‘Sugar-Free Mom’ and I would definitely encourage you to check it out because she’s got some other recipes that look and sound great!  (I think I’m going to have to go back and have a look at her ‘Orange Vanilla Frozen Yogurt Mini Pops’ recipe sometime soon!)
The recipe I tried from Brenda’s site was for the “Personal Sized Baked Oatmeal with Individual Toppings: Gluten Free and Diabetic Friendly”.  It was really important that the recipe not only be healthy but easy to eat on the go since I knew hubby wouldn’t make time to sit down and eat each morning.  Rolled oats are very healthy so I looked at several types of recipes featuring them, but since he doesn’t generally like oatmeal I was also looking for something that could be customized to appeal to his taste preferences.  The recipe I found at Sugar-Free Mom met both of those requirements.

 

breakfast cupcakes, oatmeal cupcakes, rolled oat cupcakes, oatmeal cupcakes with toppings, oatmeal cupcakes with chocolate chips, oatmeal cupcakes with nuts, breakfast cupcakes with chocolate chips, healthy breakfast muffins, oatmeal muffins, rolled oat muffins, baked oatmeal, baked oatmeal cupcakes, baked oatmeal muffins
Baked Oatmeal with Individual Toppings from SugarFreeMom.com!

 

 

breakfast cupcakes, oatmeal cupcakes, rolled oat cupcakes, oatmeal cupcakes with toppings, oatmeal cupcakes with chocolate chips, oatmeal cupcakes with nuts, breakfast cupcakes with chocolate chips, healthy breakfast muffins, oatmeal muffins, rolled oat muffins, baked oatmeal, baked oatmeal cupcakes, baked oatmeal muffins
I tried several different options to find out which flavors we would like best…

 

This was one of the first recipes I tried for these posts and unfortunately, when I prepped these I was on the verge of my April plague so I didn’t get the best photos and I didn’t take many…  I’m so sorry!  I plan on making these again soon and if I think of it I’ll take some new photos and post about any changes I made.

The recipe Brenda has created is really easy to follow and easy to make.  She also offers a list of options and tips to make sure you get the best breakfast muffins possible when you try this recipe.  The way I customized it was to try several different toppings.  I asked my husband to pick out some things from our pantry and the baking section at the store so I knew he’d like the choices available.  He chose nuts, peanut butter baking chips and small milk chocolate chips, to name a few.  My choice was dark chocolate chips and those actually turned out the best.  🙂

 

breakfast cupcakes, oatmeal cupcakes, rolled oat cupcakes, oatmeal cupcakes with toppings, oatmeal cupcakes with chocolate chips, oatmeal cupcakes with nuts, breakfast cupcakes with chocolate chips, healthy breakfast muffins, oatmeal muffins, rolled oat muffins, baked oatmeal, baked oatmeal cupcakes, baked oatmeal muffins
Finished breakfast muffins – baked oatmeal muffins – cooling on a rack.

 

Since I got sick right after making them I actually didn’t eat more than one or two.  My husband liked them a great deal (!!!) and took one for breakfast each morning for a week or more.  When I try the recipe again I’ll scale back and only include the toppings we liked the best and I may incorporate them into the actual muffin cup instead of just adding them to the top… I’m glad we tried this one because the content is SO healthy and guilt-free (unless you got the one that was completely covered with chocolate chips… lol!).  It’s hard to get unhealthy with these ingredients – rolled oats, flaxseed meal, milk, a banana, applesauce – see what I mean?  Go check it out!  If you decide to make these baked oatmeal muffins come back and let me know what you think!

 

Happy Tuesday!  🙂

Leave a Reply

