My 50th Post… Or, How I Spent a Lunch Hour With Joan Osborne

50 posts!  Wow… I can’t believe I’ve been able to write this many posts and still have people stop by and read them!  🙂

on the air radio sign

At the beginning of the past week I realized this would be a milestone post, so I tried to come up with something interesting to write about.  It didn’t take long for me to realize there weren’t any good ideas in my brain.  So I did the only thing that makes sense when faced with a challenge – I procrastinated!  For days.  That doesn’t usually accomplish anything but wasted time, but luck was with me this week.  I received a phone call from my sister one afternoon that changed any plans I might have thought I had for post number fifty.  One of our local radio stations – WDVX – has a program they call the ‘Blue Plate Special’ which airs live Monday through Saturday at noon.  Various musical acts perform in front of a live studio audience and my sister wanted to let me know that Joan Osborne was the guest Thursday.  !!!!  Ms. Osborne is a singer-songwriter that is, perhaps, best known for the song “One of Us” from her 1995 album Relish.   In my opinion, ‘One of Us’ was one of the weaker songs on the album while most of the others showcased more of a rich, edgy sound that the single lacked.  It was certainly more of a radio-friendly song, but many of the other tracks far outshine it.

We’re not here, however, to discuss Joan Osborne as I remember her from the 90’s… we’re here to discuss Joan Osborne from a couple of days ago when I was lucky enough to join a room full of people gathered to hear her sing a short set for WDVX.

joan osborne at radio performance WDVX

Joan and her band were actually the second part of the show – the first performace was from the group HuDost.  I don’t know much about them, but they had a very unique and creative sound that everyone seemed to enjoy.  If you’re interested in eclectic world music you should definitely check them out!

moksha sommer hudost blue plate special performance
Moksha Sommer of the group HuDost~

After HuDost finished their performance Joan and her band came out and took the stage.  Their set was not a long one – 30 to 40 minutes – but it was so much fun.  Her voice is still as gorgeous as ever and I was thrilled to finally be able to see her live!  Performing songs from her new CD Bring It On Home – she captivated the crowd filling every corner of the small room with the selection of vintage blues and soul songs.  Bring It On Home rocks with songs from R&B greats like Ray Charles, Al Green, and Otis Redding, and Joan was in her element singing them.

Joan Osborne and band performing at WDVX

Joan Osborne singing

If you haven’t heard her new CD and enjoy that type of music you should look it up and at least listen to a couple of songs.  I doubt you’ll be disappointed.  🙂   Everyone in our small group had a great time and agreed that having a ‘Blue Plate Special’ with Joan Osborne was a great way to spend a lunch hour!

Joan Osborne singing Shake Your Hips
Singing "Shake Your Hips"!
Joan Osborne interview
Answering some questions about her new CD - "Bring It On Home".

If you told me Monday that I’d have such an experience to write about by Friday, I probably wouldn’t have believed you.  It was a great week to have a milestone blog post and I’m so glad my sister heard about the opportunity and invited me along!

Joan Osborne performing
Such a fantastic voice!

Joan Osborne and her band Blue Plate Special performance WDVX

Joan Osborne
The lovely Ms. Osborne...

A huge THANK YOU to Joan for a wonderful show!!  Thanks to my sister for bringing some ‘glad you’re feeling a little better’ cheer to the week and thanks to hubby for making sure I was able to get out of the house to enjoy it!  lol!

And as always – thanks to you for stopping by and visiting me here…  Hope it’s a great weekend!

~heather  🙂

17 thoughts on “My 50th Post… Or, How I Spent a Lunch Hour With Joan Osborne”

    1. Thanks to you for stopping by to read it! 🙂 I’ve got a little ways to go to get to 500, but I’m gonna shoot for 100 for right now and then we’ll just take it from there. lol!

    1. Thanks! It really was a great experience! I would’ve been happy to see her at an actual venue, but being in such a small, intimate environment was fantastic. (and it didn’t hurt that it was free! lol!) 🙂

    1. Thank you so much! After a rough afternoon it was so nice to check my post and see this comment. Now if I can only find equally interesting content for the next 50 posts. Hmmm…. lol! 🙂

  1. What a way to celebrate the milestone! Looks like it was quite a performace and looks like you’ve enjoyed it 🙂

    Congrats again and you’ll surely have many more of this to celebrate! Keep on blogging 🙂

    1. Thank you! It was a great way to mark the milestone & I would highly recommend checking her out if you enjoy that kind of music and she’s performing anywhere near you. 🙂

      1. Spider web was actually my true introduction to Joan – great song and also one of my favorites! Right-hand man is also a favorite and one that was playing while I wrote the post. Great choices! 🙂

  2. Congratulations with the little anniversary. Well done. And congratulations with a nice anniversary post. It sure seems like you had a great time, and you were clearly able to capture the spirit on the set. What really impresses me is the fact that you were able to come back with a variety of pictures even though I am sure you ability to move around was very restricted – if possible at all. Good work!

    1. What a great compliment – thank you so much! 🙂 I wasn’t able to move much at all, so it really was a challenge to try to find interesting and different shots. Most of my time is spent photographing nature, landscapes or architecture, so I’m still trying to learn how to take adequate photos of people. It was a great time and I appreciate your feedback on the post and photos. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

