Fatigue on Easter Eve

I’ve tried to stop by and post several times this week, but it’s been such a difficult week.  Again.  Yuck…  Since that was the case, I kept putting off writing anything because I didn’t want to whine and complain.  However, part of being transparent and open is sharing the good AND the bad.  So here I am.  🙂

This won’t be a long post – I really need to get to bed and at least try to get some sleep – but I wanted to stop by and chat about why this week was less than stellar in the hopes that it might help someone else… Even though I have went to the doctor yesterday I don’t have a definite diagnosis, but I have a pretty good idea of what’s going on.  Brief history – a couple (two? three?) of weeks ago I had to go to the doctor and he diagnosed me with walking pneumonia.  He put me on two full rounds of antibiotics, which I finished last week, that seemed to clear things up okay… I still have slight chest discomfort and an occasional cough, but it’s a real improvement from weeks ago.  The problem is that the antibiotics seem to have completely wiped out all of the good bacteria in my body.  The result of which has been an extremely sick week in a different sense.  (*sigh*)  Now I’ve had to have samples sent to the lab and blood tests run… Speaking of which – has anyone else with CFS/FMS noticed an increased irritation to medical tape since their diagnosis?  I can’t remember it ever being an issue, but in the last year or so any time I have blood drawn and they tape cotton my arm I’ve ended up with raw, irritated skin even if the tape is only there for 30 minutes or so.  ?  It’s really strange!

Okay.  That was a slight detour from my original thought process!  🙂  My point was to stop by and say – if you already have issues with your immune system and get put on lots of antibiotics, make sure you add probiotics to your diet to replace the good bacteria that is getting wiped out!  I know everything is going to be okay, but at one point during the week I wasn’t confident I was going to stay hydrated enough and had a real fear that a hospital visit was lurking in my future.  I’ve been dehydrated and hospitalized for it before, so trust me when I say that it’s one of the least fun experiences I can remember going through!  I’m so glad it appears that this isn’t a scenario that will be repeated any time soon…  🙂

Hopefully I’ll be back tomorrow or Monday with an upbeat post when I’m not so worn out.  It’s sad to think that I’m so fatigued from a week of doing absolutely nothing, but at least my body has been able to use the rest to begin to mend.  Maybe things will just continue to improve and next week will just get better and better!  A good week?  A healthy week??  Yep – I think I could really enjoy that…   🙂

dark purple iris with raindrops photograph
Beautiful irises are blooming here... hope you find something of beauty around you today!

Happy Easter!  (and Happy Passover to all of my Jewish friends & family, as well…)  🙂

Thanks for reading~
heather

12 thoughts on “Fatigue on Easter Eve”

  1. I’m kind of going through the same thing. I have a skin infection on my forehead, so I’m on antibiotics and having to cover the nastiness when I go out in public with band-aids. My skin is so sensitive and I think that’s why the band-aids bother me so much. I also (last year) had a doctor put me on a pain patch and I couldn’t stand it because it irritated my skin so badly. On the tummy troubles thing, thanks for the advice. I guess I’ll try some yogurt today and hope it works. I hope you have a great week!

    1. I’m so sorry to hear about your poor forehead! 😦 Hopefully the meds will clear things up quickly so you can stop using band-aids.

      I’ve never had a problem (that I’m aware of) with any kind of adhesives used for bandages and tapes, and band-aids still don’t bother my skin (knock on wood)… but the tape used at the doctor’s office just irritates my skin like the band-aids are yours. We have so many other things for sensitive skin, you’d think this would be easily remedied. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by and sending good thoughts for this next week! Hope yours is fantastic as well! 🙂

  2. I eat plain Greek yogurt nearly everyday, and more if I’m on antibiotics. It really does make a difference, and keeps your gut working properly. Antibiotics are a two-edged sword, but then what in medicine isn’t. Hoping you feel better soon.

    1. Thank you so much! They really are a blessing and a curse, but you’re right – medicine is often that way! I knew yogurt was good for my gut but got out of the habit of eating it… I used to take Greek yogurt to work most days and for some reason I got out of the habit after getting laid off. Who knows why I do these crazy things? 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  3. I’ve always had sensitive skin but in this past year it’s been ridiculous! I suspected it was Fibro related, your post and csgomez’s comment makes me believe it even more.

    I hope you feel better soon and happy holiday to you, too!

    1. Thanks so much, Ginger! It’s strange how weird Fibro symptoms are, isn’t it? You think you’ve come to terms with the changes and ailments and then something new pops up that you wouldn’t think is related… but it could be… lol! Maybe it really is yet another symptom. If you hear any medical support for it come back and let us know. 🙂 Hope you have a great week!

  4. Sorry to hear that you are not feeling so well. I can relate to being worn out by doing nothing. I didn’t have any fun last week and didn’t accomplish anything either but I am so tired and achy.

    I haven’t had a reaction to medical tape specifically but I’m just more sensitive to everything these days. It seems like “Sensitive Everything Syndrome” would be a good name for fibromyalgia! I hope you feel better soon. 🙂

  5. Hope you are feeling better. The reaction to the tape is probably from the adhesive and it’s not uncommon. Not related to cfs/fms. You said Cotton tape? Ask them to use a different tape and you will probably be fine. Anyway it’s not life threatening in any way. Me, I leave it on just long enough for the bleeding to stop and then take it off.

    1. Thanks! Feeling much better than I was – it’s just taking a while. 🙂 As far as the tape goes, I didn’t think it would be related to cfs/fms, but you never know! It’s not somethng that ever bothered me before this past year. Even when I’ve had manhy pieces slapped all over me after surgery. In the last year or so, whenever they put surgical tape on me it creates a yucky reaction even if I get it off within 5-10 minutes. Oh well! If they insist on using something I’ll just ask for paper tape (which doesn’t create a reaction) or a band-aid. lol! 🙂

Leave a Reply

