Intro to Pinterest (and Confessions of a Pinner)

I have a confession to make…  I love Pinterest and have become ever-so-slightly addicted to it.  Finding pretty pictures, inspiring quotes, recipes and DIY/crafty projects is so much fun, and I’m not ashamed anymore.  My name is Heather and I’m a pinner!

pinterest image pinterest article
Pinterest image from an article from http://www.digitaltrends.com ....

The sickness can actually be traced back to my childhood.  There was always something magical about magazines and catalogs.  I loved flipping through the glossy pages and admiring the beautiful pictures and photos of places and things I had never seen.  Sometimes I would cut them out and tape them to my walls or pin them to a bulletin board.  As I became older I even requested certain store catalogs because I knew they had wonderful photo spreads and creative design elements to their ads.  On some occasions I would cut out letters and words to create ‘ransom letter’ style notes for friends and family, but the pictures were the main focus…

In case you’re unfamiliar with Pinterest, let me give you a little background and information.   As far as websites go, Pinterest is still a newbie on the block.  It went into development in 2009 and the first prototype, if I’m not mistaken, was available for a select few in 2010 and for beta use by 2011.  In August 2011 Time magazine published Pinterest in its “50 Best Websites of 2011” column.  It’s been named as one of the 10 best social networking sites and has become an invaluable tool to many creative businesses – particularly visual artists.  All of that doesn’t really tell you what it is, however, and that is the fun part!

Pinterest is a social sharing, visual bulletin board site.  You can create online “Boards” for any subject that interests you and keep track of photos, videos, etc, from various online resources (or uploaded media) and virtually ‘pin’ it to the corresponding board.  The site connects people through the ‘things’ they find interesting…  And since it’s a social site, you can “follow” people you know and see all of the items that they pin to their boards… or find new friends!  You can pin media that you find on your own or repin something that another user has added to the site.  It tracks the site that the media originated from, so it’s great exposure for photographers, bloggers, etc, if their content gets posted by a user and then reposted by lots of others.  It’s fun to see what other people find that sparks their attention and it is easy to get sucked in and lose a lot of time!  lol   🙂

Let’s say you’re a bride planning your upcoming wedding.  You scour websites for ideas about the perfect wedding gown, color combinations, bouquet styles, cake ideas – the list goes on and on.  Pinterest gives you the ability to create a pin board for all your wedding ideas – or multiple boards for each category of wedding need.  You could have an entire board devoted to bridal gowns and pin photos of gowns with necklines you like, skirt lengths that interest you, shoes that you love…. So many possibilities, and that’s just the beginning!  I have a board for destinations I want to visit, another board for craft inspiration and one with pictures of my “bucket list” items.  (I also have about 25 other boards, but we won’t go there now!  lol)  Needless to say, if you sign up with a Pinterest account leave yourself a bit of time.  It’s simple enough to set up, but when you see all of the other things being pinned it can cost you an hour or two of your day – easily!

pinterest page with boards
This is a partial screenshot of a Pinterest screen with multiple boards.

Soooooo… The truth is out.  Let my story be a cautionary tale.  If this sounds like a site that would be right up your alley – it probably would be!  Keep in mind, however, that you may be the next person confessing your addiction!  : )

 

 (If you want to look me up – my Pinterest page is here!  lol)

10 thoughts on “Intro to Pinterest (and Confessions of a Pinner)”

Leave a Reply

