Life Should be More Like a Musical

Anyone that knows me knows that I love musicals.  I get swept up in the cheesy, impromptu singing and dancing.  Suckered into thinking it was permissible to run out into the street, spontaneously burst into song and be able to finish a musical number without someone trying to drag me off to seek professional help.  My love is deep-rooted and began in childhood – honestly!  I’m not just saying that as a story telling device!  : )

When I was younger (much, much younger) my family moved to New York.  Since I didn’t really know anyone and spent most of my time with my cousin, we became very close.  I’m not sure how it began, but we ended up with what I believe was probably an *ahem* 8-track tape.  (I know – it doesn’t seem possible that I could be that old… Trust me, I’m not!  lol)  Anyway!   Each time we drove anywhere we wanted to listen to this 8-track.  Perhaps you’ve heard of it… it’s the soundtrack to a little musical called GreaseIt became my favorite music and my cousin and I would sing the songs wherever we went.  At some point this probably should have concerned our family considering some of the lyrics, but we were too young to understand what they meant and didn’t even really get all the words right.  The only drawback to the whole scenario was the fact that my cousin’s name is “Sandy”, so she felt she should be the female lead in our play… which relegated me to the male role of Danny.  I was actually just happy to sing and play so it didn’t really matter to me!  Even though many other musicals have made their way into my heart, Grease will always hold a special place as the first.  It isn’t solely to blame for my belief that life would be better if it contained more group numbers, but it definitely paved the way!


It’s easy to dismiss the ‘life would be better’ notion if you don’t consider the full impact of what it would mean.   Think about it.  Being a part of a large musical number takes lots of practice and cooperation.  You have to coordinate with different people and work together to bring about the foot-tapping, hip-shaking crowd response that would prove the success of the venture.  It would also be much more difficult to fight or go to war if we adopted and implemented these skills.  Don’t believe me?  Perhaps you need to watch West Side Story and pay particular attention to any ‘rumble’ scenes.  Consider the time and effort that would go into choreographing those scuffles!  By the time the two combatants learned all the moves and practiced them to perfection they would probably be too exhausted to actually fight and would have to go home to catch some Zzzz’s!  And who can forget the epic love scenes and duets?  No one would ever lose the love of their life if able to confront their soul mate with stars in their eyes and a choir to back them up.  It would be nearly impossible to resist – you have to admit!  Still not convinced?  If for no other reason, living life like a musical would enable each of us to get in touch with our inner child and empower it in a magical scene complete with a town full of people we don’t even know following our lead and dancing in sync with our every step.  Talk about an esteem boost!  Who wouldn’t like that??


It seems impossible to pull this off, I know. Yet, there is a modern version that is one step closer to living in a world full of dance numbers and potential lovers singing their hearts out!  Consider the ‘flash mob’.  It’s seemingly spontaneous,  completely unexpected by a group of people who will ultimately serve as the audience, begins with one or two and grows in number until it becomes a full troupe that use their jazz hands like artistic weapons… Pure magic!  (On a side note – my sister recently directed a flash mob to support a local production of The Rocky Horror Picture ShowRegretfully, I was not included in the mob and with my elephant memory will probably remind her of it for many years to come.  In fact – I only mention it here on the off-chance that she’ll read this in the future and feel obligated to include me in the next episode she produces… lol!)  Where was I?  Oh!  Before I got caught up between the parentheses I was expounding on the valid contributions of flash mobs as support to my theory of awesomeness.  However, I don’t think I’ll be able to convince you with words so I’m including one more video for your musical enjoyment!  It’s a flash mob my mom recently saw at Americas Mart in Atlanta.  Wouldn’t this be fun?

 

Kinda makes you want to jump up and dance, huh?  You could say they make a perfect pair.  Life and musicals, that is… They go together.

“Like ramma lamma lamma ka dinga da dinga dong
Remembered forever as shoo-bop sha whada whadda yippidy boom da boom
Chang chang changity chang shoo bop that’s the way it should be… Waooo, Yeah!”     : )
8 thoughts on “Life Should be More Like a Musical”

  1. I remember a certain unnamed person singing and dancing to “Boogie Fever” as a little girl in my bedroom some unknown number of years ago. But, we won’t go there! LOL

  2. We could have a sister’s flashmob….ONLY if we can ACTUALLY do the singing… and ONLY if we can sing it with lisps.” Thisters… thisters.. never were there thuch devoted thisters.” I vote. yes. ;0)

  3. I love Indian movies because they always break out in song and dance. I’ve always said life would be better with theme music. Skip to bedroom scene… start bow chika wow wow music, the hubby and I make eye contact. 🙂

    1. lol! Yes! It would be so much easier to sense the tone of a situation if only there was music in the background giving us a clue. Life should not only have theme music – it should also have danger music!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

