Weekly Photo Challenge: Through

Well, I typed an entire post and tried to add the last photo only to have the whole post disappear.  I stared at the screen with a stunned expression, went to look at the draft and guess what?  It had already auto-saved the blank screen.  Nice.  lol!  Guess I’m still a little grumpy from being sick all week…  :)

Ok.  Enough of that!  The original post was about how much I missed participating in the weekly photo challenge each week on The Daily Post.  It’s something I really enjoy and great fun even if your blog doesn’t focus on photography!  For those of you that aren’t familiar with the challenge, this is how it works (instructions taken from The Daily Post):

1. Each week, we’ll provide a theme for creative inspiration. You take photographs based on your interpretation of the theme, and post them on your blog anytime before the following Friday when the next photo theme will be announced.

2. To make it easy for others to check out your photos, title your blog post “Weekly Photo Challenge: (theme of the week)” and be sure to use the “postaday″ tag.

3. Subscribe to The Daily Post so that you don’t miss out on weekly challenge announcements. Sign up via the email subscription link in the sidebar or RSS.

 

Check it out or try it on your blog – just make sure you come back here and let me know so I can come visit the post!  :)  If you’d like to start this week, the challenge is “Through”.  Photos taken “through” something or framed by something… what would YOUR interpretation be?  Here are some of mine:

 

photo of playground swings through slide
Swings at the playground taken through one of the holes in a tunnel slide. (You can't say you're surprised - you knew I was just a big kid! lol)

 

abandoned warehouse windows
For some reason I love all the details you can see through this abandoned warehouse window! The windows on the front of the building, the row of light bulbs... I took a lot of shots that day so you may end up seeing more of them. :)

 

And finally -

 

community pool through chain link fence photo
"No Swimming" - community swimming pool through the fence taken the day after it was closed for the summer...

 

Hope you enjoyed & hope you have a wonderful weekend!!

~heather  :)

48 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Through”

  1. i like the first picture best, and could envision it coming across nicely in black and white. perhaps you could give it a try! :)

    1. Yeah – it was a first to lose an entire post, but that’s life I suppose… :)

      Thanks for stopping by and for the input – I appreciate it! Going to check out your post now… :)

    1. Thanks so much! I think the swimming pool might be my favorite as well, although I attributed that, in part, to nostalgia since I’d been there when I was younger. :) I appreciate you stopping by!

    1. Thank you! I loved this building, and although this wasn’t my favorite capture of the day I also find it interesting for reasons I can’t exactly explain. The full res shot is much better simply because the contrast pops a bit more, but there’s still something about this window that I hoped others might see as well. Something about the colors and direction of all the angles and lines, maybe? I don’t know… So glad you stopped by and really appreciate the input! :)

  2. I do know what it is like to lose a post, it has happened to me several times. I write, then. when I add the first photo, all the words disappear. I have learnt to write, either on word, or at least to copy before I put in the photo so I can at least paste it all back into the post. I am not sure what causes it.. if you find out, let me know.
    .
    I am glad you finished your post. I love your photos. I love the swings, through the red. I am often at the playground photographing grandchildren.

    1. I’ve done that in the past (copied before adding media) because if something is going to go wrong that seems to be when it will happen… lol! For some reason I wasn’t as vigilant when I wrote this post. Oh well! I got something posted with the correct photos and that was the goal. :)

      Thanks for your input and compliment! I appreciate you stopping by! :)

  3. Oh boy does that last one bring back memories … oh the good ole days at the swimming pool! Hey, I might’ve even taken you there a time or two when you were but a wee one!

Leave a Reply

